End of a vision and more about Fabregas

hugo-tocalli.jpg

Who is Hugo Tocalli? Many people including myself did not know him, till Tim Vickery, BBC’s South American reporter wrote about him.

He retired as co-ordinator of Argentina’s Youth side. And in his 13 years Argentina won 5 out of 7 World Youth Cups. That is some youth side. Most of the current squad players have come through the youth ranks, whose credit must go to this man. I am sure Messi, Riquelme, Mascherano etc might owe this man a lot for the way they play now.

So would the sun be setting on a wonderful youth system that brings about a classic style of play and some wonderful players? I guess not else Football will be the loser.

In other news, after Fabregas’ wonderful performance in the last match and the previous matches, he has come in for a lot of praise.

Comparison with Paul Scholes is reported in the Telegraph.

And in a seperate article in Telegraph again, ex Arsenal Goalie Bob Wilson talks about Fabregas and where he stands in the Arsenal all time stars list.

One memorable quote from that article:

It reminded me of what Arsene Wenger said three years ago when I was just finishing my time as goalkeeping coach with Arsenal. He told me: “I have seen the best 17-year-old player I’ve ever seen.” Well, it was an extraordinary statement for Arsene to make. I remember saying: “But wasn’t Pele the best 17-year-old?” “I am telling you about a player who plays in a different role to Pele; Pele was a striker, not a creator.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Argentina, Arsenal, Arsene Wenger, Fabregas, Hugo Tocalli, Paul Scholes

Leave a Reply

